Family Portraits

So one day, I decided to put an ad out on Craigslist offering my photography services unsure of what results it would render. Even though I only got one hit, it turned out to be a good idea.

Although lacking in equipment I felt I should have had going into this shoot, the experience left me satisfied. There were definitely notes to improve upon, which I listed in my phone, and am excited to see how things evolve.

Since this was my first time shooting a family that I didn’t know during the sunset hour, being nervous was an understatement; doubting my abilities to deliver photographs they would be satisfied with. The shoot began with the sun really bright, leaving heavy shadows in the angles we started at. Without a reflector, it created a bit of a problem. And I only have the built-in flash, which I forgot to use. But anyway, the sun softened up a bit which helped defuse the dark shadows.

Took a few shots with the sun behind them to create silhouettes, which I like, but I also would have liked their faces to be seen a little more. Perhaps if I used the flash, that would’ve helped out a little bit. My main issue and biggest note to self was definitely the lack of flash usage. As it was getting darker, the sky was great, but the flash would’ve brought them out as well.

Overall, it was a great shoot and definitely know what I need to do for the next one. Certain things are about repetition. The more I do these shoots, the more embedded these actions become.
Looking forward to the next one!

IMG_8207 IMG_8273_01 IMG_8369 IMG_8373 IMG_8381 IMG_8396 IMG_8427 IMG_8435_01 IMG_8546 IMG_8614 IMG_8632

Leave a comment